it’s a hard knock life. for all.

Life is hard. Learning to believe and accept this more deeply is one of the biggest lessons I have learned in the last twelve months or so.

There was literally a day last year when my husband and I were having a bit of a fight and as we chatted through the stuff that was going on, Adam challenged me on this belief I had that life was ‘supposed’ to be easy. For as long as I can remember I thought, spoke and acted as someone pursuing ease. Sure sometimes I did hard things, but I would always try to do what I could to make the hard thing as easy as possible.

On Tuesday last week I was sharing this lesson with one of the girls who I was at training with.

A few days later on Saturday I was fighting this lie all over again. I had to have this nasty boil on my back ‘lanced’ by the doctor in the morning and throughout the day as I tried to get chores and things done, I just felt so sorry for myself. For me, this is one of the major symptoms of the life is easy lie. Then I was tripping over things and bumping my head on other things and feeling a little more sorry for myself. So you get the idea, bandaged back, stubbed toe and a bruised head. And a whole lot of tears.

I have found there is only one reliable way to be lifted out of this – and it’s usually not where I turn first (silent tears, angry thoughts) or second (that tends to be Adam – who is super patient and comforting – but ultimately not the solution).

Adam now regularly asks me “Have you prayed?” when I tell him I’m feeling overpowered by lies and spiralling into self-pity. Even as I write this, I regret that I am not more faithful in taking my troubles to God first. Although I can’t dwell on a thought like this – or it will become another one of the accuser’s ammunition against me.

Spiritual attack is the everyday reality of a life of faith. I see this at work in our church, with key people seriously ill, in my precious friends as they battle against huge work pressures or constant sickness. God is teaching me that shying away from the fight is not His answer – He wants me – and all His people to fight. For through struggle comes growth.

And so I try to pray as often as I remember to for protection of me and my family, friends and church against the evil one and to remind myself that it is ok if I face trials…perhaps even a good sign – that I’m dangerous enough to be worth attacking.

God is faithful to those who pray…

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4:6-7

What an incredible promise.

Like little Annie the orphan sang, it is a hard knock life. And that’s ok. My life is nowhere near as hard as that of many others around the world…having perspective also helps!

5 Replies to “it’s a hard knock life. for all.”

  1. Fantastic blog again Nai. I’m trying to learn the same thing too – that suffering and critism is ok and we should in fact expect it. God is stronger than anything we or others go through. Life is not about our comfort, it’s about developing our character.
    Jesus loves you so much Nai!

  2. So true Nai!!! I have also come to this conclusion… life is meant to be challenging enough to grow us. Sorry about your boil!!!

    James 1: 2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. 4 Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

  3. Thanks for sharing Nai. A really encouraging word for me at the moment and it made we think about Jesus and his difficult life and sharing in that. You are one wise woman.
    Lots of Love!

Leave a Reply

