go back to where you came from – my humble reflections

I have only just tonight finished watching this three-part series. I had things on last week when the series screened on TV and the public conversation was in full flow.

It is hard to put into words how I feel. Deeply thankful. Undoubtedly blessed beyond reason. More questions than answers.

It is very difficult to comprehend why I should have food enough every day, warmth, flowing water and a comfy bed, let alone safety and hope for the future, when millions every where don’t and never have had enough of these things.

Some truths I must hold on to as I wrestle with this question, and others…

  • God cares deeply about the alien and the refugee. He always has. And always will.
  • This world is broken and humanity’s greatest need is to repent and believe in Jesus.
  • Jesus himself, as well as so many people in the bible, were refugees.
17 For the LORD your God is God of gods and Lord of lords, the great God, mighty and awesome, who shows no partiality and accepts no bribes. 18 He defends the cause of the fatherless and the widow, and loves the foreigner residing among you, giving them food and clothing. 19 And you are to love those who are foreigners, for you yourselves were foreigners in Egypt. Deuteronomy 10:17-19

The footage I watched tonight of Rod and Raye in the Democratic Republic of Congo, got me thinking again of the family from DRC whose asylum application I read a few months ago. I don’t think I’ll ever forget their story and the suffering they endured and the pain with which the husband and father recounted to me what had happened to them, even outside the DRC as they sought refuge. They are waiting for the appeal against refusal of their asylum application to be processed.

There can be no doubt that as a Christian and also as an Australian, that we must respond. To do our best to put ourselves in their shoes. To help. Listen. Speak out. Give. Befriend. Change.

And importantly, PRAY.

Some links, in case you’re interested…

The Go Back Series

Sydney Refugee Team

RIDE for Refugees

Leave a Reply

