breaking the drought

It’s been an eventful month since my last post, so I thought I’d break this little blog post drought I’ve had going with a few highlights…

We celebrated our God-daughter’s first birthday back in October. After family sickness postponed the party when it was scheduled for the day of her birthday, God blessed our friends with a glorious, sunny Sunday.  My giant pass-the-parcel seemed to go down a treat with the kiddies and their parents, and friends and family enjoyed the BBQ feast and all the sweet treats that followed. After helping cut the cake, and while posing for photos, Bethany could be found staring at the giant pink and purple butterfly before her and then with characteristic vigour, ploughed her little fingers straight into the edge of the cake. Ah the things that are ok when you’re 1…which never will be again! It is such a joy and privilege to be God-parents, and to be part of her life as she grows and flourishes. Here’s a fun photo from her party…

With our friends Jus and Suse and Bethany

Adam played his first gig in Australia at the opening of the new Ikea Tempe store. Despite pouring rain, sickness and the challenge of playing to a rather unique crowd of Ikea fans at 8am, I thought he did amazingly well. Pop over to his blog to check out the video…

And just a couple of days later, our church hosted its first major community event, Jazz for Soup. Now in all honesty I wasn’t overly enthusiastic about this when we first started planning, but it was truly a great night. I even realised that I don’t mind jazz music (despite having recently boldly declared to at least a couple of international lovers of the genre, that I ‘hated’ it). Oops. I was deeply encouraged by God bringing so many people into our church. We had the best problem of all…scrounging around for more bowls, chairs and spoons! The following video provides a little taste of the evening…enjoy!

Oh and I just remembered that my 10 year high school reunion happened a few weeks back too, but that can be summarised as fun, wierd and good.

And on that note, goodnight. The drought is broken, but I will be back soon! There are more words waiting within…

One Reply to “breaking the drought”

Leave a Reply

