A leap day – this is the day

This is the day the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

It’s 29 February (still, but only just!) and a lot of people have been talking about making the most of ‘the extra day’. I have been reflecting on this verse today – it just came to mind, as verses put to Sunday School songs tend to do.

Rejoice.  According to a couple of online dictionaries I consulted, to rejoice means:

to be glad; take delight (often followed by in ): to rejoice in another’s happiness.

On one level the Psalmist is inviting us to actively praise God in and for every day, and to be glad, so to actively have an attitude of gladness in our hearts.

As a little girl this was all I understood this verse (or song) meant. To be happy every day.

But, truth is, every day we’re alive is another day God sustains us. Amidst the big and small, happy and sad, He desires our praise, our delight, in him. Why? Because He never changes – He is always faithful, holy and worthy of all praise.

When I looked at more of Psalm 118 (no I didn’t already know the reference unfortunately, just been singing the tune…I googled it) I also noticed that it looks forward to a bigger day – the day of Jesus’ victory over death.

I will give you thanks, for you answered me; you have become my salvation. The stone the builders rejected has become the capstone; the Lord has done this, and it is marvelous in our eyes. Psalm 118:21-23

Since that day has already come – Jesus has died and risen and will return, and I know God’s amazing grace, how much more must I praise God in every day and act, speak, think with a heart of gladness? So much more. On leap days. Ordinary days. Exhausting days. Boring days. Exciting days. For eternity.

Leave a Reply

