Getting back on the horse

On Saturday I got to meet my friend’s beloved horse Genna for the first time. It was so wonderful to see this stunning animal who she has invested in, competed on and cared for since the middle of last year. My friend even let me have a ride…

…which was really lovely until I found myself trotting briskly towards a fence. In a moment of panic trying to make her stop or turn, I in fact clung on tighter and leaned forward (which in horse language means ‘go faster’), so she bucked me off. I completely confused her.

I have generally felt that I had a pretty good understanding of the old adage, if you fall (or fail?), you just have to get back on the horse. I’ve tried and failed and tried again plenty of times over the years – from music exams that didn’t go as hoped to recipes that didn’t work or my attempts to learn to surf.

And then I really did fall off a horse. So, despite being in a state of teary shock, covered in sand and dust, with a swelling right ankle and a rather sore back, as well as being the very last thing I felt like doing, getting back on the horse was exactly what I did.

It’s really tempting when something like this happens to worry about my injuries and pain and my own failings which brought them about. “What if I have lower back problems forever now…?” “If only I had…” I have been praying about and trying to resist these temptations.

One of the ways I have been doing this is by reminding myself that there is much I can be thankful for. I am particularly thankful that I wasn’t more badly injured, that I landed on sand, and my friend was right beside me within seconds with hugs and calm words of wisdom (and later ran me a spa bath at her house!). I’m also thankful that my friends  supported my decision to get back on. Even though I’m in no hurry to ride again, I’m really glad that my last experience on Genna and on any horse, was a calm, positive one. Getting back on really does make sense.

post fall - back on the horse
post fall – back on the horse
Leave a Reply

